Milan, 10 September 2012 - The names of the 2012 Balzan Prizewinners were proclaimed today in a public announcement:

Ronald Dworkin (USA), New York University, for Jurisprudence
Reinhard Strohm (Germany), University of Oxford (UK), for Musicology
Kurt Lambeck (Australia), Australian National University, for Solid Earth Sciences, with emphasis on interdisciplinary research.
David Baulcombe (UK), University of Cambridge, for Epigenetics.

The Balzan Prizewinners 2012 were announced today in Milan by the Chairman of the Balzan General Prize Committee, Salvatore Veca, together with the President of the Balzan “Prize” Foundation, Ambassador Bruno Bottai, at the Corriere della Sera Foundation. 
The profiles of the winners and the citations (the Prizes will be presented during the award ceremony to be held in Rome on November 14) were presented by four prestigious members of the General Prize Committee:

Antonio Padoa Schioppa (Professor Emeritus of Legal History at the University of Milan) read the citation for the assignment of the Prize for Jurisprudence to Ronald Dworkin: “For his fundamental contributions to Jurisprudence, characterized by outstanding originality and clarity of thought in a continuing and fruitful  interaction with ethical and political theories and with legal practices”. 

Gottfried Scholz  (Professor Emeritus of Music Analysis, University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna) read the citation for the assignment of the Prize for Musicology  to Reinhard Strohm: “For his extensive research on the history of European music within the cultural and socio-historical context from the late Middle Ages to the present, and for his detailed descriptions of high-rank vocal music, especially early sacred music in Flanders, and of the works of Vivaldi, Händel and Richard Wagner”. 

Enric Banda (Research Professor of Geophysics at the Institute of Earth Sciences in Barcelona; President of Euroscience, Strasbourg) read the citation for the assignment of the Prize for Solid Earth Sciences, with emphasis on interdisciplinary research to Kurt Lambeck: “For his exceptional contribution to the understanding of the relationship between post-glacial rebound and sea level changes. His findings have radically modified climate science”.

Marc Van Montagu (Professor Emeritus of Molecular Genetics at Ghent University; Chairman of the Institute of Plant Biotechnology for Developing Countries) read the citation for the assignment of the Prize for Epigenetics  to David Baulcombe: “For his fundamental contribution to the understanding of epigenetics and its role in cell and tissue development under normal and stressful conditions”.

The President of the General Prize Committee, Professor Salvatore Veca, announced that the 2013 Balzan Prizes will be awarded in the following fields: 
Medieval History
Quantum Information: Processing and Communication
Infectious diseases: basic and clinical aspects

The amount of each of the four 2012 Balzan Prizes will be 750,000 Swiss Francs (approx. €620,000; $790,000; £500,000). The award fields vary each year and can be related to either a specific or an interdisciplinary field, and look to go beyond the traditional subjects both in the humanities (literature, the moral sciences and the arts) and in the sciences (medicine and the physical, mathematical and natural sciences), so as to give priority to innovative research.
Half of the amount received by the winner of each of the four prizes must be destined to research work, preferably involving young scholars and researchers.

  • stampa stampa
via mail
Scrivi la tua mail