Balzan Report
12 September 2017
The names of the 2017 Balzan Prizewinners were disclosed yesterday in a public announcement:

Aleida and Jan Assmann (Germany), Universities of Constance and Heidelberg, for Collective Memory
Bina Agarwal (India), University of Manchester (UK), for Gender Studies
James P. Allison and Robert D. Schreiber (USA), University of Texas, Austin and Washington University School of Medicine Saint Louis, for Immunological Approaches in Cancer Therapy
Michaël Gillon (Belgium), University of Liège, for The Sun’s Planetary System and Exoplanets
The 2016 Balzan Prizewinner for International Relations, History and Theory, not awarded last year, is Robert O. Keohane, (USA), Woodrow Wilson School - Princeton University.

The 2017 Balzan Prizewinners were announced today in Milan by the Chairman of the Balzan General Prize Committee, Salvatore Veca, together with the President of the Balzan “Prize” Foundation, Enrico Decleva, at the Corriere della Sera Foundation. 
The Prizes will be presented during the award ceremony to be held in Berne on November 17. The amount of each prize is 750,000 Swiss Francs (approx. €660,000; $790,000).
For suggestions and information on Balzan Report and its contents, contact
BALZAN REPORT is the online newsletter of the International Balzan Prize Foundation and its internet created by the press office to give a quick, summary view of the Balzan Prizes and of the Foundation's initiatives The newsletters contents are developed in greater depth and in minute detail in the web pages of
Fondazione Internazionale Balzan Premio
Piazzetta Umberto Giordano 4
20122 Milano
T +39 02 7600 2212 - F +39 02 7600 9457