Balzan Report
1 October 2018
Balzan Prizewinner James Allison Wins the Nobel Prize
James P. Allison, 2017 Balzan Prizewinner for Immunological Approaches in Cancer Therapy (with Robert Schreiber), received the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine. The Balzan Foundation and the Balzan General Prize Committee, who acknowledged the significance of the American scientist’s research with last year’s Balzan Prize, congratulate Allison, who will join the ranks of the other six Balzan Prizewinners who have become Nobel laureates: Karl von Frisch (1962), Mother Teresa of Calcutta (1978), Alan J. Heeger (1995), Bruce Beutler/Jules Hoffmann (2007) and Shinya Yamanaka (2010).
For suggestions and information on Balzan Report and its contents, contact
BALZAN REPORT is the online newsletter of the International Balzan Prize Foundation and its internet created by the press office to give a quick, summary view of the Balzan Prizes and of the Foundation's initiatives The newsletters contents are developed in greater depth and in minute detail in the web pages of
Fondazione Internazionale Balzan Premio
Piazzetta Umberto Giordano 4
20122 Milano
T +39 02 7600 2212 - F +39 02 7600 9457