29 January 2024

Appointments in the International Balzan Foundation

New Chairman and Members in the General Prize Committee

Marta Cartabia (Italy, Bocconi University, Milan) is the new President of the Balzan General Prize Committee; she succeeds Luciano Maiani who has completed his term of office.

Massimo Inguscio (Italy, Università Campus Bio-Medico, Rome),
Alberto Mantovani (Italy, Humanitas University, Milan) and
Erika von Mutius (Germany, Helmholtz Center, Munich)
were appointed as Members of the General Prize Committee. They succeed Luciano Maiani, Jules Hoffmann and Peter Suter respectively.

The Balzan Foundation expresses its deepest gratitude to Professors Maiani, Hoffmann and Suter for their invaluable intellectual and cultural contribution to the Committee and the Balzan Prize.

On the Board of the Balzan Foundation “Prize” in Milan, Laura Laera (former judge) was appointed Vice-President; she succeeds Paola Germano who remains on the Board as an ordinary member.

Insert your email address here to sign up for our newsletter with all the latest updates on the International Balzan Prize Foundation .

By subscribing, I confirm that I have read and understand the General Terms and Conditions of EU Regulation 2016/679, in particular with regard to my rights, and hereby consent to the processing of my personal in the manner and for the purposes indicated therein.
Fondazione Internazionale Premio Balzan