General Prize Committee

Working within the “Prize” Foundation in Milan, the General Prize Committee is composed of twenty members of international renown from all over Europe, and is selected from among the most distinguished figures in the humanities, sciences and arts.
The General Prize Committee establishes the subject areas for the awards and decides on the winners from among the nominations entered by the world’s most important international cultural institutions – universities, research institutes and academies – at the Foundation’s request.

Luciano Maiani (Italy)


Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the University of Rome “La Sapienza”; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, and of the American Physical Society

Jules A. Hoffmann (France/Luxembourg)


Distinguished Class Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (Emeritus), Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Strasbourg; Professor at the University of Strasbourg; Member of the Académie française and former President of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris; 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

Peter Kuon (Austria/Germany)


Professor of Romance Philology at the University of Salzburg, Austria

Frances Ashcroft (United Kingdom)

Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Research Professor at the University Laboratory of Physiology, Oxford; Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, and of the Royal Society, London

Marta Cartabia (Italy)

President Emeritus of the Italian Constitutional Court; Full Professor of Constitutional Law at Bocconi University, Milan

Sierd A.P.L. Cloetingh (The Netherlands)

Distinguished Utrecht University Professor; President of the Academia Europaea; President of the COST (European Cooperation in Science & Technology) Association; former Vice-President of the European Research Council; member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, the German Academy of Technical Sciences and honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Paolo de Bernardis (Italy)

Full Professor at the Department of Physics, University of Rome “La Sapienza”; Italian Principal Investigator of the international stratospheric balloon experiment BOOMERanG; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and of the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, Rome

Donatella della Porta (Italy)

Professor of Political Science, Dean of the Department of Political and Social Sciences and Director of the Centre of Social Movement Studies at the Scuola Normale Superiore in Florence

Børge Diderichsen (Denmark)

Former Vice President, Novo Nordisk, Denmark; Chairman of the International Advisory Board of VIB (Flemish Institute of Biotechnology) in Ghent, Belgium

Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco (Portugal/Egypt)

Professor of Ethnomusicology, Director of the Instituto de Etnomusicologia - Centro de Estudos em Música e Dança, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal, and President of the International Council for Traditional Music

Étienne Ghys (France)

Permanent Secretary of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris; Research Director CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), École Normale Supérieure de Lyon

Andrea Giardina (Italy)

Professor of Roman History at the Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa; President of the International Committee of Historical Sciences; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome

H. Charles J. Godfray (United Kingdom)

Professor of Population Biology at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Martin School and Fellow of Jesus College; Fellow of the Royal Society

Nathalie Heinich (France)

Research Director in sociology at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris; Member of the Centre de Recherches sur les Arts et le Langage (CRAL) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), Paris

Thomas Maissen (France/Switzerland/Germany)

Director of the German Historical Institute in Paris; Chair in Early Modern History at the University of Heidelberg; Member of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Stephen Mulhall (United Kingdom)

Professor of Philosophy, Russell H. Carpenter Fellow, and Tutor in Philosophy at New College, Oxford

Marjan Schwegman (The Netherlands)

Professor Emeritus of Political and Cultural History of the Twentieth Century, Utrecht University; former Director of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome

Victor Stoichita (Switzerland/Romania/Spain)

Professor Emeritus of Modern Art History at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland; Member of the Academia Europaea, Foreign Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, of the Royal Academy of Science, Letters and Fine Arts of Belgium and of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences

Maria Strømme (Sweden/Norway)

Professor of Nanotechnology, Head of Nanotechnology and Functional Materials Division, and Chairperson of Upptech, The Ångström Laboratory, Uppsala University. She is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Peter Suter (Switzerland)

Honorary Professor of Medicine at the University of Geneva; former President of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Do you want to register or register a friend for the Newsletter of the Balzan Foundation? Write the e-mail address in the box to receive 'Balzan Report'