Reinhard Strohm

2012 Balzan Prize for Musicology

For his extensive research on the history of European music within the cultural and socio-historical context from the late Middle Ages to the present, and for his detailed descriptions of vocal music, especially early sacred music in Flanders, and of the works of Vivaldi, Handel, and Wagner.

Biographical and Bibliographical Data

Reinhard Strohm, born in Munich on 4 August 1942, is a German citizen resident in the UK.
Emeritus Professor of Music, University of Oxford, and Emeritus Fellow of Wadham College, Oxford.

Studies of Musicology, Medieval Latin and Romance Literatures at Munich, Pisa (Scuola Normale Superiore), and Technische Universität Berlin, 1961-1969. Studies of Violin and Piano in Munich and Milan (Conservatorio G. Verdi). Ph.D. 1971, Technische Universität Berlin (with Carl Dahlhaus), on “Italienische Opernarien des frühen Settecento (1720-1730)”.

1970-82 Co-editor, Richard-Wagner-Gesamtausgabe, Munich
1975-83 Lecturer in Music, King’s College, University of London
1983-90 Professor of Musicology, Yale University
1990-96 Reader, then Professor of Musicology, King’s College London
1996-2007 Heather Professor of Music, University of Oxford.

Prizes, Fellowships, Visitorships
1977 Edward J. Dent Medal of the Royal Musical Association, London
1987-88 Fellowship for Research on French Tragedy and Italian Opera, National Endowment for the Humanities (Washington)
1988 Visiting lecturer, Università degli Studi “La Sapienza”, Rome
1993-  Fellow, The British Academy
1995 Lurcy Visiting Professor, University of Chicago
1995 Large Research Grant for research on Opera in Venice, The British Academy
2001 Visiting Professor, Centre d’études superieures de la Renaissance, Tours
2007 Heinrich Glarean Prize, Swiss Musicological Society
2008 Emeritus Research Fellow, Leverhulme Trust, London
2008 and 2009 Visiting Professor, Institut für Musikwissenschaft, Universität Wien
2010-11 Fellow, Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

– Italienische Opernarien des frühen Settecento (1720-1730). 2 vols, Cologne: Volk, 1976.
– Die italienische Oper im 18. Jahrhundert. Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1979; 2nd, rev. edn, tr. by L. Cavari: L’Opera italiana del Settecento. Venice: Marsilio Editori, 1991.
– Music in Late Medieval Bruges. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1985. Second, rev. edn: Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1990.
– Essays on Handel and Italian Opera. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1985.
– The Rise of European Music (1380-1500). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
– Dramma per Musica: Italian Opera Seria of the Eighteenth Century. New Haven and London: Yale University Press, 1997.
– The Operas of Antonio Vivaldi. Florence: Olschki, 2008, 2 vols (Quaderni Vivaldiani, 13).
– Guillaume Du Fay, Martin Le Franc und die humanistische Legende der Musik. 191. Neujahrsblatt der Allgemeinen Musikgesellschaft Zürich, 2008.

Edited books, music editions, translations of opera libretti, c. 200 essays on music history, 14th to 19th centuries, history and critique of musicology, music historiography.

(September 2012)

Insert your email address here to sign up for our newsletter with all the latest updates on the International Balzan Prize Foundation .

By subscribing, I confirm that I have read and understand the General Terms and Conditions of EU Regulation 2016/679, in particular with regard to my rights, and hereby consent to the processing of my personal in the manner and for the purposes indicated therein.
Fondazione Internazionale Premio Balzan