11 September 2023

The 2023 Balzan Prizewinners

David Damrosch, Jean-Jacques Hublin, Eske Willerslev, Heino Falcke, Fondazione Francesca Rava

[+ Press Release with Motivations - pdf]

The winners of the 2023 Balzan Prizes are:

David Damrosch (USA) – Harvard University for world literature,
Jean-Jacques Hublin (France) – Max-Planck-Institut für evolutionäre Anthropologie Leipzig (Germany) for human evolution: palaeoanthropology,
Eske Willerslev (Denmark) – University of Copenhagen for human evolution: ancient DNA and human evolution,
Heino Falcke (Germany) – Radboud University Nijmegen (The Netherlands) and Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Bonn for high-resolution images: from planetary to cosmic objects.

The winner of the Prize for humanity, peace and brotherhood among peoples is
Francesca Rava Foundation (Italy).

Each winner will receive 750,000 CHF (approximately 780,000 EUR; 840,000 USD), half of which must be invested in research.

The announcement was made by the President of the Balzan ‘Prize’ Foundation Alberto Quadrio Curzio and the Vice-President of the General Prize Committee Jules Hoffmann (in the photos) during the traditional meeting in the Sala Buzzati of the Corriere della Sera Foundation in Milan.

▼ Press Release with Motivations

Insert your email address here to sign up for our newsletter with all the latest updates on the International Balzan Prize Foundation .

By subscribing, I confirm that I have read and understand the General Terms and Conditions of EU Regulation 2016/679, in particular with regard to my rights, and hereby consent to the processing of my personal in the manner and for the purposes indicated therein.
Fondazione Internazionale Premio Balzan