Balzan Prizewinner Michel Mayor wins the Nobel Prize

Michel Mayor, 2000 Balzan Prizewinner for Instrumentation and Techniques in Astronomy and Astrophysics, is one of the winners of the 2019 Nobel Prize for Physics (with Didier Queloz and James Peebles).

The General Prize Committee of the Balzan Foundation, who almost 20 years ago acknowledged the significance of the Swiss scientist’s research, congratulate Mayor who will join the ranks of the other seven Balzan Prizewinners who have become Nobel laureates: Karl von Frisch (1962), Mother Teresa of Calcutta (1978), Alan J. Heeger (1995), Bruce Beutler/Jules Hoffmann (2007), Shinya Yamanaka (2010) and James Allison (2017).

>>  À la recherche des planètes et des réponses aux grandes questions de l'astronomie
interview with Michel Mayor ( - 17 July 2008)

Do you want to register or register a friend for the Newsletter of the Balzan Foundation? Write the e-mail address in the box to receive 'Balzan Report'