Balzan Prizewinners Beutler and Hoffmann now also Nobel (October 2011)

Bruce Beutler and Jules Hoffmann, in 2007 Balzan Prize for innate immunity, in October 2011 also received the Nobel Prize for Medicine and Physiology. The two scientists got the congratulations from the Balzan Foundation and the Balzan General Prize Committee, which four years ago has already highlighted and appreciated the value of their research.
It is the fourth time, after Karl von Frisch (1962), Mother Teresa of Calcutta (1978) and Alan J Heeger (1995), that a Balzan Prizewinner later obtained also the prestigious award of the Nobel Foundation.

Do you want to register or register a friend for the Newsletter of the Balzan Foundation? Write the e-mail address in the box to receive 'Balzan Report'