The names of the 2018 Balzan Prizewinners were proclaimed today in a public announcement:

Marilyn Strathern (UK), University of Cambridge, for Social Anthropology
Jürgen Osterhammel (Germany), University of Constance for Global History
Detlef Lohse (Germany/The Netherlands), University of Twente, for Fluid Dynamics
Eva Kondorosi (Hungary), Research Centre of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, for Chemical Ecology.
The Balzan Prize for Humanity, Peace and Fraternity Among Peoples was attributed to Terre des hommes (Switzerland).

The Prizewinners were announced today in Milan by the Chairman of the Balzan General Prize Committee, Luciano Maiani, together with the President of the Balzan “Prize” Foundation, Enrico Decleva, at the Corriere della Sera Foundation.

The amount of each of the four annual Prizes will be 750,000 Swiss Francs (approx. € 670,000; $ 770,000); the Prizewinners must destine half of the prize to finance research projects that are preferably carried out by young scholars or scientists. The Prizewinner for Humanity, Peace and Fraternity among Peoples will receive 1,000,000 Swiss Francs (€ 890,000; $ 1,000,000).
  • stampa stampa
via mail
Scrivi la tua mail